Skip to content

Education…

January 23, 2013

“Education is not the filling of a pail, but the lighting of a fire.” – William Butler Yeats

DSC_0294

Since the last week of October 2012, I have talked a bit about this, here and there on facebook, etc., but I wanted to take a post and just write more about the education of photographers, and some of the things we do to get better [because there is ALWAYS room to get better :)].

DSC_0044

I was lucky enough to realize I wanted a career in art way back in high school [if we’re being completely honest, it was more like kindergarten, when I started telling people I was going to be an artist when I grew up].  So in college, I zeroed in on photography, and was able to complete my Bachelors Degree with a double major of Design Art and Art History, and an emphasis in photography.  Afterwards I studied with master photographers, who had thriving portrait photography businesses, I second shot for weddings, I was part of PPI, and PPA, and went to numerous workshops, and lectures to become a better photographer.

CM-FAV003a

Five and a half years ago, the year after I graduated college, my roommate introduced me to Bobbi and Mike, an amazing husband and wife team in Indianapolis, who she had met at a fundraiser for an Indianapolis non-profit.  Since then I have been avidly internet stalking them.  Creepy, I know!, but I can’t help it, I.LOVE.THEM.  I tried to hire them to photograph my own wedding in 2010, but they were solidly booked :(.

IMG_0878

Since then, however, I have transitioned into doing my own photography business full time, and they have started offering workshops!  I might have squealed a little when they announced their first workshop.  Needless to say, although I wasn’t in the very first batch of bbmk students, I finally made it to their workshop in October.  And it has changed the way I photograph completely.

KA-FAV008

I truly believe this workshop has made my photography SOOO much better than any workshop in the past.  Bobbi and Mike teach from their souls, and want to share everything they have learned about the business with you.  And that’s SO awesome.  And refreshing.

KE-CPL-25

So if you are a photographer, looking for a way to educate yourself beyond everything you know already, I ABSOLUTELY suggest and encourage you to sign up for this workshop.  It is worth every penny.  It will change your photography business, and be a great gust of fresh encouragement and excitement for photographing.

CM2-F-001

Bobbi and Mike, you guys are photography rock star’s!  Thank you so much for sharing your awesomeness with us!  When you launch your bbmk workshop part 2, I’ll totally be among the first to sign up!

~Maike

ps: The images in this blog are from the workshop and sessions post bbmk workshop.  I love them all :).  Here’s also a link to the workshop couple that Bobbi and Mike photographed during my workshop.

DSC_0057

*I’m not gonna lie, I’m probably going to frame the photo above :)

IMG_20121029_091509

DSC_0031

DSC_0044

DSC_0027

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 24, 2013 6:31 pm

    I agree with everything you said about their workshop, it also changed my life! And your pictures are wonderful, you truly have a knack for capturing genuine expression. Great job!

    • March 8, 2013 4:39 pm

      Thanks so much for your sweet comments about my work :). I LOVE photography, and feel really blessed to have a career in it.

Leave a Reply

