Skip to content

International Women’s Day 2013!

March 8, 2013

“I measure the progress of a community by the degree of progress which women have achieved.” – B.R. Ambedkar

Today is International Women’s Day!  So I thought I would share my favorite images from the past 12 months brides [since it’s been over a month since I last posted! (sorry about that!!)].

I feel really blessed to have photographed some awesome, BEAUTIFUL brides, who are talented, kind and loving.

Amanda

Amanda

Renee

Renee

Flanna-Web

Flanna

Stacey

Stacey

Rebecca

Rebecca

Mallory

Mallory

Megan-Web

Megan

Amanda-Web

Amanda

Last week I was sick, which gave me time to sit and catch up on documentaries.  One of the selections I watched was Half the Sky [you can see it on netflix.com and pbs.com.  There’s also a book with the same title].  It explores women all over the world in different situations and how they are, in some cases, slowly crawling away from horrible life conditions, and in others preparing, fighting and sacrificing for their daughters to not have to grow up in the same situations they have endured.  It is both awful and inspiring to watch.

I thank all the men and women who fight and believe in equality around the globe.  I am beyond privileged to live where I do, and have most of the same freedoms as men.  While there is of course still a ways to go, I also realize the mis-beliefs our country has conquered.

“You educate a man; you educate a man. You educate a woman; you educate a generation.” -Brigham Young

~Maike

PS: I also came across a new documentary coming out soon called It’s a Girl.  It’s incredible information when living in the USA we sometimes forget about.  You should check it out.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

