Skip to content

100th Post!

March 18, 2013

“When people look at my pictures I want them to feel the way they do when they want to read a line of a poem twice.” – Robert Frank

This here, ya’all, is my 100th post.

Woah!

I knew it was coming up, and in the back of my mind I thought, “I need to make my 100th post epic!”.

However, turns out ‘epic’ is intimidating.  So I’ll work up to that.  Maybe on the 200th post I’ll show you something epic.

Instead, for my 100th post, I thought I would share a self portrait I shot today.

Back in November I invested in some studio lighting.  I was trained on strobe lighting when I was in college, and LOVED it.  I loved the ability to manipulate the light, to experiment and to take Vogue type images with the many friends who I conned into setting up shoots with me.

With the new equipment and new connections within the city I’m really excited for future projects [working on putting one together right now, to take place at The State Theater; it’s going to be AWESOME].  It seems the more connected the husband and I get into the city, the more opportunities open up for awesome photographic prospects.

So without further ado, my self portrait:

 
DSC_0068

 

Also, I apologize for the seriousness of my portrait.  Turns out, when you take your own photograph with the remote trigger, and only the dog around, it’s a bit hard to laugh authentically and smile genuinely.  I promise, I’m not this serious in real life :).  But I do sort of enjoy the dramatic-ness of it.

 

~Maike

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

