Skip to content

D’argile Jewelry and Gauges

March 20, 2013

“No great artist ever sees things as they really are.  If he did, he would cease to be an artist.” – Oscar Wilde

So I was born and raised [more or less], in New Mexico.  Where, on a lazy little street, filled mostly with old folks, the majority of our time was filled playing with dolls, swimming, adventuring in the yard, or calling for our neighbor friends [Jackie, Rebecca and occasionally their older sister Laura] to come out and play.

My little brother and I were particularly close with Rebecca and Jackie.  While we often played all together, occasionally Rebecca and he would chase lizards, pretend sword play, and other random things while Jackie and I found something to create, paint, or cut up and sew.

My mom remembered how Jackie, my older sister Rika and I used to get our old fancy socks [the kinds with lace trim on the folded down tops], and cut them up in order to make beautiful Barbie outfits [believe me, it was the 90’s and the short skirts/off the shoulder look was incredibly in style!].  We even tried to sell them on our street at a lemonade stand once.

All that to say, while we lived in New Mexico, Jackie was always my go to artsy friend, whether it was Barbie doll outfits, or building a mud house in the back yard [that totally counts as sculpting, by the way], we were often found creating things.

We hadn’t been in touch in YEARS, but thanks to good old facebook, we found out about each other again recently, and it turns out, both of our early passions for art have carried on into our adult lives!

Jackie asked me to photograph a few pieces of her jewelry for facebook and her etsy site, and so I wanted to share them with you!

I love how these images turned out [D’argile Jewelry and Gauges].  Her pieces are so brilliant and bright and the stripes make them pop out.  I LOVE them!  And I love that both of us are living out our childhood dreams of being creators/artists when we grew up.

If you are an artist looking for professional photographs for your work, feel free to send me an e-mail and I can give you a quote [ohsnap at mrinaye.com].

Jackie, your work is beautiful!  I look forward to your new creations!

~Maike

DSC_0006

DSC_0188

DSC_0127

DSC_0144

DSC_0013

DSC_0114

DSC_0189

DSC_0024

DSC_0110

Leave a Reply

