Skip to content

Dad’s Day!

June 19, 2013

“The most important thing a father can do for his children is to love their mother.” -Theadore Hesburgh

rmfaves_174

One of the stories my father likes to bring up and laugh about was the first time we went ‘hunting’ together.  And by that, I mean that we both dressed in camouflage, set out at the crack of dawn, and sat in trees watching for animals.  My father had a bow and arrow, and I had my camera [actually, I probably had HIS camera :)].

I’m not sure how long we were out there, but eventually he came back to my spot in the woods up in the tree to find me whistling.  And then laughed because I had become bored and probably scared any potential animals away from my post.

This past Sunday was the first Father’s Day I was able to spend with my dad in YEARS.  My parents took a train here from New Mexico [where they live], to visit for a long weekend and it was so great!  We saw the new Star Trek movie, made steak, and went to church on Father’s Day.

Much like my mother [who I wrote about here], my dad has been a great supporter of my endeavors.  And is ever so proud of me.  He always told us he wanted to provide opportunities to us that he wasn’t able to have.  And I so appreciate and love him for that!

Thanks for always loving Mom, Dad.  And for showing us the value of being a hard worker, and for all the awesome experiences of traveling, hunting, skiing, and experiencing new things.

love,

maike rinaye

ps: photographs from our wedding in 2010 care of Studio 6.23

pps: since we did visit Notre Dame while they were in town, I thought it was fitting to have a quote from father Hesburgh.

rmfaves_288

rmfaves_290

And here’s one from our weekend!

DSC_0256-blog

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

