Skip to content

Stephanie & John Wedding!

July 10, 2013

“Majesty enthroned in beauty
All my life, Your love pursues me
and I’m found in You” -All Sons and Daughters

SJ-W-FAV041-b

Stephanie and John had such a BEAUTIFUL wedding ceremony and reception!  Originally, they had planned to have an outdoor wedding at a nearby park, but in lieu of a few changes, had to make a last minute switch to have both the ceremony and the reception at the church.  But we all were so thankful they did, since no more than 10 minutes into photographing their family images, the skies opened up and POURED down for a solid 30 minutes.  We were lucky enough to escape the rain, and had many umbrellas on standby.

Stephanie and John saw each other before the ceremony, and planned in LOTS of time for photographs in downtown Goshen, all of which I am in LOVE with.

Their wedding was full of so many beautiful personal touches, including Stephanie’s class holding up signs of the couples story [from meeting to proposal, I teared up reading it], some photos of both the bride and the groom’s grandmothers who had passed away the month before the wedding, and many of the images from their engagement session [Sarah and Alex did this too, and I was/am super flattered :), I seriously have the BEST brides and am so thankful that they each value photographs the way I do].

Stephanie and John, you guys were so AWESOME to work with!  Thank you so much for inviting us to be a part in your day!

~Maike

ps: special thanks to my second shooter Stephanie, who you can see in the very last image in the gallery below.  And yes, although you can barely tell in the photo, she IS pregnant, but totally rocked shooting this wedding with me!

pps: those flowers, SOOO gorgeous, Steph and I could have photographed them all day, no joke!

SJ-W-FAV007

SJ-W-FAV011-b

SJ-W-FAV005

SJ-W-FAV006

SJ-W-FAV023-b

SJ-W-FAV025

SJ-W-FAV029-b

SJ-W-FAV035

SJ-W-FAV036

SJ-W-FAV039-b

SJ-W-FAV037

*this guy on the left was AWESOME.  He came up to the flower girl, as she was twirling and said, “Hey, look how handsome I am!”SJ-W-FAV043-b

SJ-W-FAV060

SJ-W-FAV058-b

Hair/makeup : The Getaway

Catering : BGTD Catering LLC 

Florist : Charlotte’s Bouquets

Getting Ready/First Look Location : McKenzie House Bed and Breakfast

Ceremony/Reception Venue : Maple City Chapel

Sound/Lights : Imagination Pro Media

Cake : Sweet Em’s Cake Shoppe 

Dress : Blushing Bride

Shoes : DSW

Bridesmaid Dresses : David’s Bridal

Personalized Wedding Monogram & Invitations : Kaleidoscope International

 

MUSIC:
Ceremony song: “Your Love is All Around” All Sons and Daughters
First Dance song: “Always You” Ingrid Michaelson

BRIDE & GROOM Q&A:

Most memorable moment?

S: It was so special to be able to walk towards John and see his expression changing as I got closer to him.  I felt so much more peaceful about everything when I saw him and got to have a moment alone with just the two of us.
J: Having everyone clapping and cheering for us as we walked to the getaway car.  

Advice for future brides?

S: As the craziness began on my wedding day, I took a moment and just found a quiet place to sit and take it all in without anyone else around.  That quiet moment by myself seemed to calm my heart and prepare me to be able to take in everything that was about to happen that day. If you aren’t careful, you can get sucked into all of the details that are happening around you,  and you’ll want to still be in control of everything.  Hand the control over to someone else and enjoy just being the Bride.
J:  Keep it simple!

Funniest memory?

S: During our first dance, our 3 year old nephew walked up to us and asked us what we were doing.  He was so confused.  It was such a serious song, but we couldn’t help but laugh as he stood there, right next to us, looking so confused.
J:  During the Best Man’s toast, John’s brother pulled out a huge stack of papers, stating that he had put together a few thoughts for us on marriage.  He said, “I don’t have anything else to do tonight, do you?”

If you could do it all over would you change anything?

S: I would have done a better job at not worrying about what other people would think of my wedding.  There’s a lot of pressure on brides to have a “pinterest-perfect” wedding.  Doing that can really take the joy out of the planning.  I was so thankful for my friends and family who helped to remind me that the wedding is only one day, but the marriage lasts a lifetime.  Building a strong foundation in your relationship is so important!
J:  I would want less time between the pictures and the ceremony. All of the wait time made me nervous!  

Honeymoon?

Secrets, Wild Orchid Montego Bay Jamaica

*click on the images below to view larger

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 10, 2013 8:32 pm

    Beautiful! I’m such a sap because I started tearing up looking at all of them!

Trackbacks

  1. Henry Christopher! | m.rinaye

Leave a Reply

