Skip to content

Aileen & Patrick Wedding!

September 17, 2013

“May you be happy always” – Honoré de Balzac

AP-W-FAV044_fb

The last weekend of August, my second shooter for the day Christina and I were able to celebrate and photograph Aileen and Patrick’s wedding!  I’ve been lucky enough to photograph these guys two other times, HERE for their engagement shoot, and then HERE for a couple shoot before they were engaged.

Their wedding was so breathtaking!  Aileen planned in plenty of time for us to head into downtown Indy to take some bridal party images at Monument Circle, and then to head over to Chatham Tap on Mass Ave [where we took images outside and in, since that was the location Patrick asked Aileen for her number a few years ago :)].

Highlights for the wedding: the gorgeous bouquets, the beautiful church, the lightning right before Aileen walked down the aisle, and the slow dance turned salsa dance Aileen and her father prepared as a surprise!

Patrick and Aileen, your wedding was GORGEOUS, as are the two of you!  Thank you so much for inviting us to be a part of it!

~Maike

PS: That image above is my view, scroll down to the second black and white image below to see Christina’s view [so so so super adorable :)].

PPS: I promise, I didn’t chalk graffiti the brick wall with their date, someone else did, and I photoshoped it to the right date :).

AP-W-FAV001_fbAP-W-FAV006_fbAP-W-FAV004_fbAP-W-FAV007_fbAP-W-FAV028_fbAP-W-FAV031_fbAP-W-FAV037_fbAP-W-FAV038_fbAP-W-FAV040_fbAP-W-FAV043_fbAP-W-FAV045_fbAP-W-FAV027_fbAP-W-FAV020_fbAP-W-FAV019_fbAP-W-FAV053_fbAP-W-FAV014_fbAP-W-FAV049_fb

Hair : Salon 6, Madison Christman

Make Up : Susan Pearson

Florist : Lily Lane Flowers, Becky Ruby-Wojtowicz

Ceremony : Faith Lutheran Church

Reception Venue : Creative Arts and Event Center

Sound/Lights : Triad DJ Services, John Perry

Catering :  Brad Gates Catering

Cake : Heavenly Sweets

Dress : Posie Patch Bridal Superstore

Shoes : ceremony shoes were borrowed from my sister, who wore them for her wedding, reception shoes from Cactus Flower

Bridesmaid Dresses : Little Borrowed Dress

MUSIC:
bride & groom first dance : This Year’s Love, David Gray
father/daughter : The Finer Things, Steve Winwood and Soy La Candela, Edwin Bonilla
mother/son : My Wish, Rascal Flatts

BRIDE & GROOM Q&A:

Most memorable moment?

A: Most memorable, where do I start? The whole day was amazingly beautiful. The memories that pop into my head right away (and make me smile) are when I was walking down the aisle, the first person I saw was my former roommate, Sarah. She got me teary-eyed. Then I saw my other former roommate, Lindsay, more tears. It wasn’t until that moment in the day that I felt the overwhelming flood of love. To have almost all my friends and loved ones in the same room was amazing. It wasn’t until 2/3rds of the way down the aisle that I saw Patrick and felt a rush of peace. I think from the start of the ceremony on, I had a smile plastered on my face. The other moments: see the funniest moment below, our vows and Patrick getting teary-eyed, the bubble exit, the toasts (I don’t think I stopped laughing from the start of speeches to the finish), the cake cutting and Patrick getting some icing on my nose so he could kiss it off, our first dance with lots of stepping on my dress and toes but no one noticed, and the creative dance with my dad that he had dreamed up and practiced with me in the weeks before the wedding.

P:  So many… the day went by so quickly. Aileen walking down the aisle and then our vows to one another. My brother’s best man speech was funny and completely him. Aileen’s fantastic dance with her Dad. Seeing the great time our friends and family had at our reception.

Advice for future brides?

A: When it comes to planning, decide what your priority is (where you want to spend the majority of your money). When it comes to finding your vendors, ask everyone you know who they know and who they recommend. We had the best vendors, and I don’t know if we would have found them on our own. I wish I could sing their praises to everyone. When it comes to your wedding day, enjoy it. Give up control (as best you can) and soak in every moment. Everyone says it and it’s so true: The day goes by so quickly. And it’s the best day ever. Enjoy it.

P: Having great vendors can make your life so much easier.

Funniest memory?

A:  Hands down the funniest memory was during the processional. The entire day had been sunny (and HOT!) but, around the start of the ceremony, a freak Indiana thunderstorm popped up. Torrential downpour, thunder, lightning, soaked guests and ushers (mind you our wedding was indoors). Then as Canon in D was playing, the song my mother would play on the piano when I was growing up, the fire alarm started blaring. Either lightning struck the church or the thunder shook the building enough that it triggered the fire alarm. The organist kept playing, and surprisingly all the guests stayed where they were during a FIRE ALARM. But in no time, the pastor’s wife had turned off the fire alarm and the ceremony continued as if nothing had happened. However, because I was thinking the alarm had thrown off the timing of the music and my entrance, I RAN to the door dragging my father behind me, which is funny because the entire time he kept saying, “Slow down. Don’t rush this.”  And it’s also funny because I’m known for running late to things. We ended up having plenty of music left and when I started down the aisle, I did slow down, a little bit. Late arrivers told me that the fire department and the police arrived to clear the alarm.  Some guests thought my dad had pulled the alarm in order for us to run away. I’ve also found out that most of the city of Greenfield lost power that afternoon but our little area didn’t. I am so thankful for that! When the fire alarm went off though, I just laughed. What else can you do? Plus, now it’s a really funny memory.

P:  I agree with Aileen. The fire alarm during the processional was definitely the funniest. Its timing was perfect. It was almost like it was meant to be.

If you could do it all over would you change anything?

A: I wouldn’t change anything. Although not possible, I would have slowed time down. It was such a fun day. I have never felt such overwhelming love and happiness.

P:  I wouldn’t change anything either!

Honeymoon?

We went to Northern California. We spent a day and a night in San Francisco and two nights on a house boat in Sausalito. Then we headed north along the Pacific Coast Highway and spent three nights in a cabin in the Russian River Valley near the Sonoma Coast. We got a little of everything – the city, the woods, the mountains, the beach and the wineries. And because Patrick loves jellybeans, we visited the JellyBelly factory.

*click on the images below to view larger

More INFO!  When we took the Aileen’s gift to Patrick, and he unwrapped it, he made a joke that there was so much writing, but it REALLY is one of Aileen’s strengths/talents!  So, here’s some additional info she wanted to include in the blog and to brag about :).

Aileen, “I loved the vendors I worked with!”

Alterations : Lily’s Alterations (Fishers, IN).  Lily altered my sister’s wedding dress and has altered all my suits.  She does amazing work and is the sweetest lady.

Rings : G. Thrapp.  You want Dana Friedman to pick out your jewelry. She has great style and taste.

Tux Rental : Men’s Wearhouse.  Easy to work with and Vera Wang Black tuxes looked great on the guys and dads.

Hotel : The Alexander.  Great, great customer service and fantastic modern rooms. They even upgraded us to a suite! We were truly spoiled.

Hair : Salon 6, Madison Christman. Madison drove all the way from Bloomington to do my hair and my bridesmaids’ hair. She takes great pride in her work and took time to make sure each curl was in the perfect spot. She is so fun to be around and has such a eye for what looks good. I had all the confidence in the world that she would make my hair look great with the cap veil and when it was off.

Make Up : Susan Pearson.  Susan is a sweet friend from high school who calmed me down when time was running short and made me look and feel beautiful.

Florist : Lily Lane Flowers, Becky Ruby-Wojtowicz.  AMAZINGly beautiful work! I gave Becky some random thoughts and she ran with it. She turned my badly articulated idea and surpassed all my expectations. I couldn’t believe how beautiful the flowers and the colors were. She was so easy to work with and her work speaks for itself. Did you see the flowers on the cake? Amazing!

Reception Venue : Creative Arts and Event Center.  The stained glass windows and gorgeous arches made decorating so easy (we didn’t have to do much!). Bev and her staff made the night run smoothly and perfectly. We highly recommend this venue.

Catering :  Brad Gates Catering.  The Pantry is Brad’s restaurant and it’s located in the City Market Building. AMAZING food!  Everything Brad makes is delicious. Many of our guests were members of the clean plates club that night.

Sound/Lights : Triad DJ Services, John Perry.  John was professional and easy to work with. People say that more than the details, you remember how you felt that day. John got the feel of our wedding just right.

Cake : Heavenly Sweets.  Quite possibly the best cake ever. I might have had a few pieces (one that night and another two to go). We didn’t save the top because we wanted our guests to have as much as they wanted. Plus it gives us an excuse to buy the same cake just freshly baked for our anniversary. Also worth mentioning is the beauty of the cake. Tanya Marshall did exactly what I had envisioned. Lily Lane Flowers did the floral arrangement on the cake and Tanya placed them. We couldn’t have been more pleased.

18 Comments leave one →
  1. September 19, 2013 4:44 pm

    Loving her veil! Fantastic images my friend :)

  2. September 19, 2013 6:10 pm

    love that bouquet shot against the wall! and that exit photo w the bubbles! nice captures friend!

  3. Corrie permalink
    September 19, 2013 8:32 pm

    Love these images! especially the bubble shots!

  4. September 19, 2013 8:41 pm

    New to your blog..really loved these images! The ceremony shots are perfection…oh and the bubbles!! Great work!!

  5. September 19, 2013 9:19 pm

    That bubble shot is really awesome! And the veil blowing in the wind – so pretty!! Lovely work!

  6. Kari permalink
    September 19, 2013 9:42 pm

    Wow! So many fun and beautiful images! What a pretty wedding!

  7. September 19, 2013 9:44 pm

    That veil!!!!! Beautiful images!!!

  8. September 19, 2013 11:01 pm

    You really captured the beauty of the day! They are a stunning couple!

  9. Geri Blust permalink
    September 20, 2013 12:05 am

    Beautiful images!! Especially that little look she’s giving him during the ceremony!!

  10. September 20, 2013 8:41 am

    This is stunning! I LOVE that wide shot!!!! :D

  11. Maggie permalink
    September 20, 2013 9:15 am

    Beautiful!! Great job!!!

  12. Jen Saner permalink
    September 20, 2013 1:31 pm

    Stunning! The first close-up shot of the two of them is to die for!!

  13. September 20, 2013 3:18 pm

    Holy killer portraits batman! Great work!!

  14. September 21, 2013 10:14 am

    Stunning images! I love the bubbles picture. Gorgeous bride- the eyes! Also I love the one with the couple at the altar from the side and you can see bride eyeing/adoring her groom! Love!

  15. September 23, 2013 6:05 am

    Gorgeous wedding! Love love love her flowers!! The bubble picture is stunning, what a cute flower girl!!! Great work!

Trackbacks

  1. Gina & Eric! | m.rinaye
  2. Gina and Eric, Indianapolis, Indiana Wedding! | m.rinaye
  3. Baby Emme! A Bloomington, Indiana Newborn Shoot | m.rinaye

Leave a Reply

