Skip to content

Christina & Matt’s Wedding!

September 27, 2013

“The Marriage Triangle: As a husband and wife draw closer to God, they also come closer to each other.”

CM-W-FAV039_fb

If you were following the blog back last winter, you might remember the snowy sweet engagement session I took of Christina and Matt [if not, you can see it HERE].  This couple is fabulous.  I would first just like to say, if I could take Matt with me to every wedding, I totally would.  He is a self proclaimed LOVER of weddings, and is so positive and full of affirmations!  [At some point he told me, “Man, I forgot how awesome you are!  You’re so good!”].  Christina, your new husband is so cool ;).

This ceremony was also a bit different for me.  Many times as I’m photographing the ceremony part of the wedding day, I am so focused on my job, I don’t pay much attention to the message the officiant delivers to the guests.  With Christina and Matt’s wedding though, Friar Mark kept saying things that were so sweet, I wanted to take notes and remember them all!  One of the things he talked about was how Christina and Matt are meant to help each other shine, and to bring out the best in each other.

While Christina and Matt went the traditional route, and didn’t see each other before hand, they did plan in time for us to go to the sunken gardens, and downtown Huntington after the ceremony, to take some beautiful images [I seriously LOVE how the blue of those bridesmaids dresses looks with that green behind them!]  Luckily, as a semi-surprise to Christina, they also rented a limo for their big bridal party, which sooo helped in transporting everyone around!  Cool things about this wedding: the coin tradition, called Las Arras [click here if you want to read more about it, the first time I saw it was in Kwynn and Eric’s wedding], the other bridal party that drove by when we were doing bride and groom portraits waving and honking their horns in congratulations, reception slap bracelets with Christina and Matt’s names and their wedding date on them, the awesome photo booth and the dollar dance, where all gifted money was donated to a local charity.

You two threw an awesome celebration!  Thank you so much for inviting us to be a part of it!  We loved being there!

~Maike

ps: Special thanks to Peter who was my awesome second photographer for the day! [He’s tremendously awesome with kids!].

pps: If you are looking for the photo booth pictures, scroll down a couple entries [or click here].

CM-W-FAV003_fbCM-W-FAV007_fbCM-W-FAV008_fbCM-W-FAV011_fb CM-W-FAV013_fbCM-W-FAV016_fbCM-W-FAV020_fbCM-W-FAV024_fb CM-W-FAV030_fbCM-W-FAV033_fbCM-W-FAV034_fb CM-W-FAV035_fbCM-W-FAV042_fbCM-W-FAV060_fbCM-W-FAV063_fbCM-W-FAV037_fb

Hair : Shaggy Chic [Nicole]

Make Up : Myself [the bride :)]

Flowers : Self made bouquets with bulk flowers from Costco

Ceremony : Saint Peter and Paul Catholic Church in Huntington, IN

Reception Venue : IPFW International Ballroom [‘we saved a lot of money here because they let you choose your own licensed caterer and bartender. We bought all the alcohol ourselves and had the bartender serve it.
The ballroom also has concert speakers so we didn’t have to hire a DJ.’]

Sound/Lights : Self-made playlist, and a friend as MC

Dance Floor : A Party Apart [‘they offer a military discount; we had our own table decorations and hired them to set up the reception on the day of the wedding’]

Cake : Sarah Tarlton

Catering : The Orchid

Dress/Veil : Alfred Angelo Indianapolis [‘they offer a military discount and the alterations lady, Hannah, custom made my veil and lace jacket’]

Shoes : Stuart Weitzman [‘they are the most comfortable dress shoes I own. I loved that they came in wide sizes!’]

Bridesmaid Dresses : Alfred Angelo

MUSIC:
bride & groom first dance : A Thousand Years, Christina Perri
father/daughter : What a Wonderful World, Louis Armstrong
mother/son : You Raise Me Up, Josh Groban

BRIDE & GROOM Q&A:

Most memorable moment?

C: Walking down the aisle.

M: Seeing her walking down the aisle.

Advice for future brides?

C: Hire a wedding planner if you work full time. It is absolutely worth the extra expense! I wish I would have had one.

M: Don’t try to do everything yourselves. It’s ok to ask family/friends to help out. They usually want to anyway.

Funniest memory?

C: I was so nervous I couldn’t tell which was Matt’s left hand and I ended up putting on his ring on his right hand.  

If you could do it all over would you change anything?

C: Not really. I loved our wedding! It was everything I ever wanted :)

M:  Nothing major. I’d tweak the music playlist a little more.

*click on the images below to view larger

5 Comments leave one →
  1. September 27, 2013 11:45 pm

    A soldier?! A long-sleeved dress with an outfit change?! I’M IN LOOOVE!!!!

  2. September 28, 2013 10:03 am

    Mmm … Navy! You know how I feel about a man in uniform (and thank you Matt for serving!) <3 Beautiful images!

  3. September 28, 2013 8:39 pm

    Sooooo pretty!! I’m in love with that shot in the limo! Great work!!

  4. Jen Saner permalink
    September 30, 2013 8:32 am

    I’m loving these!! Especially your intro photo and the ADORABLE one of her wearing his hat! Great photographs all around!!

Trackbacks

  1. Nichole & Vohn! | m.rinaye

Leave a Reply

