Skip to content

Lindsey & Eric Wedding!

January 5, 2014

“I’ll be the moon when the sun goes down,
Just to let you know that I’m still around.” -Otis Redding,  That’s How Strong My Love Is

LE-W-FAV066_fb

I photographed Eric and Lindsey’s engagement session this past summer in Michigan City [where we had awesome urban AND beautiful beach portraits CLICK HERE].  When there was a bit of a snow storm planned for the weekend of their wedding, I got really excited to photograph the two of them and their bridal party with a beautiful snowy background.  All of them were AWESOME, and braved the snow/cold like champs [all the girls had black coats, and a pair of boots for for tromping around the snow for photographs].

And, as you can see, we not only got beautiful snowy background images, but we also got amazing SNOW FALLING images as well!

Lindsey and Eric’s wedding was so so beautiful!  They went the traditional rout and didn’t see each other before their Basilica ceremony, but planned in time after the ceremony for us to photograph around Notre Dame, including the main building and the Grotto, and then we went back to the hotel, fixed hair and make up a bit, drank some champagne and took some more portraits of just the two of them around the hotel [which, btw, The Double Tree in South Bend is an incredible place to be if the weather outside is frightful].

Lindsey and Eric, we LOVED being with you guys the day of your wedding!  You were so fun and sweet to work with, and I love that you guys were up for the beautiful snow images!  Thanks for inviting us to photograph your wedding day!

~Maike

ps: Special thanks to Peter for second shooting with me!  He’s awesome.

LE-W-FAV002_fbLE-W-FAV016_fbLE-W-FAV025_fbLE-W-FAV004_fbLE-W-FAV028_fbLE-W-FAV027_fbLE-W-FAV007_fbLE-W-FAV020_fbLE-W-FAV032_fb LE-W-FAV037_fbLE-W-FAV039_fbLE-W-FAV041_fbLE-W-FAV050_fbLE-W-FAV064_fbLE-W-FAV055_fb LE-W-FAV081_fbLE-W-FAV092_fb

Hair : Lauren Silcox, The Parlor (Michigan City)

Make Up : Lauren Silcox, The Parlor (Michigan City)

Florist : Glass Slipper Weddings (Nappanee) and Martin’s Supermarket Floral Department (Mishawaka)

Ceremony : Basilica of the Sacred Heart, University of Notre Dame

Reception Venue : Atrium at The DoubleTree of South Bend

Sound/Lights : Zack East of Music Express (St. Joe, Michigan)

Cake : Arlene’s Wedding Cakes (Niles)

Catering : DoubleTree

Dress : Here Comes the Dress (Chesterton)

Shoes : J.Crew

Bridesmaid Dresses : David’s Bridal

MUSIC:
bride & groom first dance : That’s How Strong My Love Is, Otis Redding
father/daughter : What a Wonderful World, Louis Armstrong
mother/son : I Hope You Dance, Lee Ann Womack

BRIDE & GROOM Q&A:

Most memorable moment?

L: Definitely giving Eric a huge hug as soon as I met him at the end of the aisle. That hug settled my nerves and helped me to cherish and enjoy every minute of the ceremony. He always does that for me; calms me and puts a smile on my face.

E:  By far, seeing Lindsey in her wedding dress next to her father as they walked down the aisle toward me. No words could describe how I felt at seeing her so happy, so amazingly beautiful. It was easily the most joyous moment of my life.

Advice for future brides?

L: Someone once gave me the best advice I received throughout all of the wedding planning. It was the fact that you could plan and plan and plan but then at a certain point you have it decide to let go and just enjoy the day. I took that to heart and decided that no matter what happened I would be married by the end of the day and would have the best time of my life celebrating with the love of my life. I would wish the same for all future brides; that they can decide to let go and just have fun!

E: Ask questions and listen to your friends and family who have gone before you into marriage. If you want your fiancé involved in the wedding prep then task him. Don’t forget to tell him when you expect the task completed! And the best advice I received was basically just to remember that the wedding day is all about the bride and groom and nobody else, so don’t spend time trying to make others happy or comfortable.

Funniest memory?

L:  Having to wear snow boots on my wedding day was pretty funny, however, I’m sure that those boots will make for some pretty memorable photographs!

E:  While there were definitely funny hah hah moments (“there is a strobe light between your legs”) I remember most how much fun the entire day was. Everybody was so happy for us, so genuinely happy, and having a good time celebrating Lindsey & Eric; it was just such a fun party. Kinda’ want to do it again with Lindsey next year…

If you could do it all over would you change anything?

L: I wouldn’t change a thing! I am beyond lucky and grateful to have had the best day of my life!

E:  Not a thing! Wait, I mean to say that I would be more helpful with the wedding planning and help alleviate some of the planning stress my fiancée endured. And I would want to change whatever Lindsey wants to change. 

Advice regarding Honeymoon?

Definitely take one and remember that it doesn’t matter where you go as long as you are together. Plan it well and don’t be afraid to splurge as it is the only honeymoon you will ever get. Take at least one day off after the wedding day to decompress and pack if you are travelling far way from home.

Honeymoon:

We spent a week in Jamaica soaking up the sun and loving every minute together. We were able to come home in time for Christmas Eve to keep celebrating with family. 

Lastly, are there any other vendors that you LOVED and want to give a shout out to?

All of our vendors were exceptional! 

*click on the images below to view larger

15 Comments leave one →
  1. January 7, 2014 9:50 am

    OH MY!!!! I love love love those snow shots! What a classic bride and wedding. Stunning!

  2. Laura permalink
    January 7, 2014 10:57 am

    The snow photos are my favorite!!! And lucky for them to be able to escape the cold for a little while on their honeymoon! :-)

  3. January 7, 2014 10:27 pm

    These are beautiful! You captured their day so well! And that snow?!? Are you kidding me? BEAUTIFUL!

  4. January 8, 2014 2:26 am

    Beautiful wedding and beautiful photos! I’m in LOVE with the snow pictures!!!

  5. January 8, 2014 12:42 pm

    How beautiful!! Gorgeous couple and beautiful dress! Love the snow pictures!

  6. Jennifer Crowe permalink
    January 9, 2014 1:51 am

    Beautiful wedding! Love the snow!

  7. January 9, 2014 9:26 am

    Love the shots outside in the street in the snow! Looks like it was a fun day! Gorgeous bride!

  8. January 9, 2014 3:44 pm

    Another admirer of your snow photographs! Such a beautiful couple. The black and white images are gorgeous and so classic

  9. January 9, 2014 5:20 pm

    Looooove those snow pictures!! What a brave couple and bridal party!

  10. Keren permalink
    January 9, 2014 10:19 pm

    What a beautiful church! I love that wide angle shot you got of them at the altar!! AND…those snow pictures are to die for! LOVE!

  11. January 10, 2014 12:28 am

    That church is amazing! Love the detail shots and the snow shots are my absolute favourite. I love a winter wedding and a bride and groom brave enough to get out there in the cold and get those amazing shots. Superb photos!!

  12. January 17, 2014 8:27 pm

    Snowy days are awesome and a snowy wedding is even better!! Nice work capturing their fun, love-filled day!

Trackbacks

  1. Lindsey, Eric and a Baby Bump! | m.rinaye
  2. Baby Luke! | m.rinaye
  3. Here Comes the Dress Shoot! – Chesterton, Indiana | m.rinaye

Leave a Reply

