Skip to content

Kelly & Ryan’s Engagement Session!

April 10, 2014

“Very well, I will marry you if you promise not to make me eat eggplant.” -Gabríel Garcia Márquez, Love in the Time of Cholera

KR-E-FAV016_fb

“It was just a normal Friday, we both worked and decided to have a low-key, relaxing Friday night. We went to our favorite little pizza spot and ran some errands before heading back to my place to watch a movie. When we got there he said he had something for me and handed me a box. I opened it and there was a Packer jersey in it. I LOVE the Packers and we had tickets to the following Mondays game to see them play the Bears. The rest happened so fast. I held up the jersey and when I turned it around, I noticed it had his last name on it. At that point, he said he wanted me to be on his team and asked me to marry him. I was shocked and so excited!” ~Ryan and Kelly’s Engagement Story, told by Kelly.

Meet Kelly and Ryan!  They met and fell in love in Chicago, and are getting married this summer at Ogden Gardens in Valparaiso, Indiana.

In case you didn’t know, one of my guilty pleasures is youtube-ing proposals. [‘Cause who doesn’t like a good proposal story!?!].  Since Kelly brought the jersey along, I thought I needed to share their engagement story as well [and we can all sigh together at Ryan’s awesome proposal :)].

And their engagement session was LOVELY.  Well, their images are lovely, the actual day I might have been yelling at the sky to stop snowing [it did :)].  So they were great at braving the cold, snuggling, and just being so adorably in love.

Speaking of love, I LOVE engagement sessions because it give us a time to hang out casually, and I get to see the couples personality, how they interact with each other, their clothing choices and what ways they take my prompts for poses.  Not to mention I get to plan out cool locations, and use spots I’ve scouted out that aren’t always do-able for wedding days.  AND it is just a good way to get all the photo-nerves out of the way before the wedding [I’m always so surprised how many people are not a fan of having their picture taken (ahem, Kelly ;), and how gorgeous is she?!?!)].

I can’t wait to photograph these guys this summer!  Your wedding is going to be so lovely!

~Maike
KR-E-FAV006_fbKR-E-FAV004_fbKR-E-FAV010_fbKR-E-FAV025_fbKR-E-FAV020_fb*Click on the images below to view larger.

14 Comments leave one →
  1. April 14, 2014 7:14 pm

    Maike! These are beautiful! I absolutely love that split-tone wall, but my favorites are the black and whites of Kelly + Ryan on the stairs—so beautiful and such genuine smiles. I loved their engagement story, too. Thanks for sharing!

  2. Laura permalink
    April 14, 2014 7:41 pm

    Nice work, Ryan!! I love a good proposal story, too! I had no idea they were YouTube-able… this could be dangerous… Great locations – I love the big open sky and also the white/teal wall, but their arms and their expressions in that second grouping really melt my heart. :-)

  3. April 14, 2014 9:12 pm

    Their images are lovely. You’re not lying!

  4. April 14, 2014 9:23 pm

    They are such a cute couple! Great job! Love the colored wall and all their smiles!

  5. April 14, 2014 9:58 pm

    I can’t even pick a favorite! These are fabulous! I love that you shared the proposal story with us Maike! Love it! What a beautiful couple in love!

  6. April 14, 2014 10:01 pm

    Oh, how adorable are they?!?! LOVE the ones in front of the blue and white wall!!

  7. Maggie permalink
    April 15, 2014 5:24 pm

    How cute is this couple?!!! I can’t pick a favorite, they all beautiful. Awesome job :)

  8. April 16, 2014 12:07 pm

    I love the way you blog. This entire session is so money. Sending love and high fives your way!

  9. April 17, 2014 9:43 am

    Love that last image on the bridge!!! Gorgeous!

  10. Laurie permalink
    April 17, 2014 3:02 pm

    The bridge shot – so great! I cannot get enough of the fun color and all the love! Great session!

  11. April 17, 2014 3:38 pm

    sweet images — the bridge cuddly image is my favorite but so many amazing images!

  12. Jen Crowe permalink
    April 17, 2014 7:12 pm

    What a fun session! Love that white/teal wall!!!

  13. Zach and Sarah permalink
    April 18, 2014 1:12 am

    These are so good! I want a teal wall! What a great find! And, BTW…”I want you on my team” = perfect line!

Trackbacks

  1. Kelly & Ryan Wedding! | m.rinaye

Leave a Reply

