Skip to content

Malia & William! Kalamazoo, Michigan Wedding Photography

August 17, 2014

“If you go away, then I go away too
or if I stay home, you send me a postcard
You don’t just say “Well see you around sometime, bye”
I like you a lot because of that
If I go away, I send you a postcard too
And I like you because if we go away together
And if we are in Grand Central Station
And if I get lost
Then you are the one that is yelling for me”
– I Like You, by Sandol Stoddard Warburg

MW-W-FAV022_fb

Malia and William.  Their wedding was AMAZING.  I know I might say that about all the wedding’s I photograph, but it’s like each one I shoot gets better and better and BETTER!  I’m not sure how that works, but that’s how it feels.  Malia and William met in Kalamazoo at college, but didn’t start dating until later.  And they are lovely.  Their engagement session is HERE if you want to check out what they look like in street clothes ;).

Malia and I were actually roommates for a few months back in 2010 [with her sister Megan].  Mostly what I remember from that season is just how chill and fabulous it was to live with those two.  If you’ve gone ahead and looked through the images, you can see the one of Malia, Megan and I at the end.  I love it when I have former brides at weddings.  Such a good fuzzy feeling to hang out with them and catch up about life!

My favorite parts of this wedding were the following [in no particular order:] the incorporation of two beautiful poems [the full I Like You, by Sandol Stoddard Warburg, and some other lovely one that I can’t remember], the groomsman speech that was SOOOO full of puns, when Malia and William were done with their first dance and they beckoned to everyone else to join them on the dance floor [there’s an image below; it was awesome], and last, but not least, when William was handed a mic because someone told the DJ he knew all the words to Bust-A-Move.  Amazing.

Malia and William, I LOVED hanging out with you all day.  Your wedding was so beautiful.  Thanks so much for trusting me with your memories!

~Maike

ps: Special thanks to Alex, who second shot with me!  You can see more of his work HERE.

pps: Z, I’m getting my passport updated soon so I’ll be ready to fly at a moments notice.  Just let me know when and where ;).

MW-W-FAV005_fb MW-W-FAV001_fbMW-W-FAV002_fbMW-W-FAV003_fbMW-W-FAV006_fb MW-W-FAV007_fbMW-W-FAV008_fbMW-W-FAV010_fbMW-W-FAV011_fbMW-W-FAV014_fbMW-W-FAV012_fbMW-W-FAV013_fbMW-W-FAV018_fbMW-W-FAV019_fbMW-W-FAV017_fbMW-W-FAV016_fbMW-W-FAV020_fbMW-W-FAV023_fbMW-W-FAV026_fbMW-W-FAV024_fbMW-W-FAV027_fbMW-W-FAV029_fbMW-W-FAV030_fbMW-W-FAV034_fbMW-W-FAV028_fbMW-W-FAV031_fbMW-W-FAV035_fbMW-W-FAV032_fbMW-W-FAV036_fbMW-W-FAV037_fbMW-W-FAV038_fbMW-W-FAV042_fbMW-W-FAV044_fbMW-W-FAV043_fbMW-W-FAV045_fbMW-W-FAV046_fbMW-W-FAV048_fbMW-W-FAV047_fbMW-W-FAV049_fbMW-W-FAV050_fbMW-W-FAV051_fbMW-W-FAV052_fbMW-W-FAV053_fbMW-W-FAV054_fbMW-W-FAV055_fbMW-W-FAV056_fbMW-W-FAV057_fbMW-W-FAV058_fbMW-W-FAV041_fbMW-W-FAV040_fbMW-W-FAV039_fbMW-W-FAV061_fbMW-W-FAV062_fbMW-W-FAV064_fbMW-W-FAV063_fbMW-W-FAV074_fbMW-W-FAV059_fbMW-W-FAV075_fbMW-W-FAV065_fbMW-W-FAV067_fbMW-W-FAV068_fbMW-W-FAV069_fbMW-W-FAV070_fbMW-W-FAV071_fbMW-W-FAV072_fbMW-W-FAV073_fbMW-W-FAV076_fbMW-W-FAV033_fb

Hair : Tavani Salon

Make Up : Tavani Salon

Florist : Floral Creations by Sharon

Ceremony : Stuart Avenue Inn

Reception Venue : Stuart Avenue Inn

Sound/Lights : Andy Carlson

Cake/Cookies : Cupcake Zoo

Catering : Maggie’s Catering

Dress : Saja

Shoes : ModCloth

Bridesmaid Dresses : JCrew

MUSIC:
bride & groom first dance : Swept Away, Avett Brothers
father/daughter and mother/son : Ain’t That Love, Ray Charles

BRIDE & GROOM Q&A:

Most memorable moment?

M: Walking down the aisle towards William and past the faces of so many people we love.  My heart was full.  

W:  The first dance. We started swing dancing about 6 months earlier. It was a chance for us to break out our moves.

Advice for future brides/grooms?

M: Don’t sweat the small stuff or spend time on things you don’t care about.  Enjoy the day!

W: Delegate. Organizationally, we had a lot of help from our wedding party and families throughout the day, which made it easier for us to talk to guests and to enjoy ourselves.

Funniest memory?

M:  Dancing with my dad, or William singing Bust A Move.

W:  In the middle of our first dance, we realized that we were dancing to a different version of the song than we had chosen, one that we’d never heard before. We just went with it and had a great time.

If you could do it all over would you change anything?

M:  I would make sure we told our DJ the exact version of our first dance song we wanted. We ended up trying to swing dance to some slow sentimental version of Swept Away rather than than album version that has a whole lot more jump to it.  Humorous but not ideal.  Other than that the day was just as lovely as we could have hoped and so much fun!

W: Find a better way to signal people to use our wedding website. We kept the invitations fairly uncluttered of text, putting all but the most essential stuff on our website. But then we fielded a number of requests for information that was on the website.

 Did you go on a honeymoon?

Currently traveling around Portugal!

Lastly, are there any other vendors that you LOVED and want to give a shout out to?

All our vendors were great!  We are so glad we chose to have our wedding at Stuart Avenue Inn and that we chose Maike to photograph it!

*****Also THIS******

photoJanet [Malia’s mom], just sent me this from her and Daniel’s wedding day! “Dan & Janet. 1978. Leaving the church.”  I LOVE IT!!!!! [and was maybe inspired by it for Malia and William’s tandem image].

 

11 Comments leave one →
  1. sister Megan permalink
    August 18, 2014 10:04 pm

    Gorgeous!!! Love them all – especially the one of ceremony & tree! Can’t wait to see more.

  2. August 19, 2014 9:26 am

    WOW!! This wedding is beautiful! I love all the details you captured that help tell their story. Amazing job!

  3. August 19, 2014 9:45 am

    That ceremony location — perfection! So much happiness happening here and you captured it all!!

  4. August 19, 2014 11:20 am

    what a beautiful wedding…and so much fun!! love all the pops of yellow. they look so madly in love and so incredibly happy!!! love love!!

  5. August 20, 2014 1:37 pm

    I love all the details and you captured them so perfectly! But my favorites hands down are the images of the couple – so sweet I love every single one! Great job!

  6. KAtie D permalink
    August 21, 2014 9:34 am

    Malia is so breathtaking! You can see the genuine love they have for each other! Their colors, the remake of a family photo… such sentiment and heart. I love everything here!

  7. August 21, 2014 3:51 pm

    Such a lovely wedding! So much emotion throughout and you captured it so well. Nice job!

  8. August 22, 2014 2:25 pm

    Lovely use of color and black and white. Beautiful shots preserving a wonderful day.

  9. August 22, 2014 4:44 pm

    Maike, these images are stunning! What a beautiful, fun couple! Awesome dress shot. Love the details and the emotions of the day! Beautiful!

  10. August 24, 2014 11:07 am

    You captured it so perfectly! This was just a lovely wedding, love the emotions!!!

  11. August 29, 2014 12:48 pm

    LOVE that dress shot (and her dress, let’s be real), Maike! Beautiful images all around. Congratulations to Malia + William!

Leave a Reply

