Skip to content

Amelie & Michael! Indianapolis, Indiana Engagement Session

October 14, 2014

“Der Liebe ist kein Wind zu kalt.”

AM-E-FAV006_fb

While this is the first time Amelie and Michael are on the blog, it isn’t actually the first time I’ve photographed Amelie.  We met years ago, when we both lived in Indy [she was in law school and I was a production manager at a photography studio].  During their engagement session, we reminisced about how we met when she came to a Superbowl watch party at the house I shared with three other roommates.  She was with a few other international students [she’s from Germany], who needed the Superbowl experience.  I was bumming around in my awesome Berlin hoodie, and she bee-lined to come chat with me.  In the first 5 minutes of hanging out, we both knew we would be good friends.  You know, the kind you just ‘click’ with immediately.

We hung out/partied it up together the rest of the time she was in Indy; we did Halloween parties together, I introduced her to her first Icee, took her first professional photographs [when she graduated law school], and just all around had a great time being with each other.

Okay, all that to say, I LOVE her.  She’s pretty great.  And while I’ve been promising that we’re going to get out to Germany eventually, her marrying Michael is the BEST REASON EVER to come visit :).

So now Michael.  You know we’d have high standards for anyone marrying this awesome girl, and he totally wins.  He’s so kind to her, and you can just tell in the way he says ‘darling’, he’s smitten.  And while I don’t know him well [yet], I can tell he is intelligent, and adventurous and that’s so perfect for Amelie.

Friends, I can’t wait for your wedding!  You two are so amazing, and [assuming there are no small tragedies], I’m going to love being there to witness your vows!

~Maike

ps: Funny story.  During their shoot, I was telling them the last place we’re going to go is by this awesome ‘orange tree’.  Michael was amazed that there were orange trees in Indiana, which I replied “They’re all over this time of the year!  Just have to be on the look out for them!”…. then, when we arrived at the location for the image below, we all had a good laugh because he and Amelie had thought I meant an orange fruit tree ;).

AM-E-FAV021_fbAM-E-FAV004_fbAM-E-FAV014_fbAM-E-FAV002_fb

*the image below is my FAVORITE… I love it.  I know it’s not traditional, and you can barely see faces, but click on it and look at it big, and it just so great!  Oh, and then there’s of course the symmetry, and those awesome lines in the windows, and… ya, I just love it.AM-E-FAV019_fbAM-E-FAV009_fbAM-E-FAV003_fbAM-E-FAV005_fbAM-E-FAV012_fbAM-E-FAV011_fbAM-E-FAV008_fbAM-E-FAV017_fbAM-E-FAV018_fbAM-E-FAV024_fbAM-E-FAV013_fbAM-E-FAV020_fbAM-E-FAV022_fb

*and I handed the camera off to Michael to snap one of us, because we both LOVE dancing.AM-E-FAV007_fb

11 Comments leave one →
  1. October 14, 2014 9:51 pm

    Love the gorgeous fall colors in the background. You captured so much love between these two!

  2. Rachel permalink
    October 14, 2014 9:56 pm

    LOVE! The colours, the locations, this couple! This whole session is so awesome!

  3. October 15, 2014 12:42 am

    oh, i love these two together!! they are so happy and in love. it literally jumps out of the pictures. i love that 2nd shot so much. gorgeous couple, gorgeous photos!!

  4. Anonymous permalink
    October 15, 2014 9:19 am

    Thanks all!

  5. October 15, 2014 10:50 am

    oh i LOVE those laying down images!! gorgeous! and yes, the fall color, i’m such a sucker for that! the story about the orange tree made me laugh! beautiful job!!

  6. October 16, 2014 7:20 pm

    LOVE all of the color!!! and love, love the laying down pics!!

  7. October 19, 2014 4:50 pm

    So many different locations, angles, and colors here! Love them all. Congrats, Amelie & Michael!

  8. October 19, 2014 6:55 pm

    These are so awesome. I love how full of life they are!

  9. Abbey permalink
    October 19, 2014 9:28 pm

    Awe I love these! That first one is stunning, and your favorite is also my fave!! Awesome job!

  10. October 19, 2014 10:07 pm

    Love the colors!! I think my favorite is the bw one of them laying on the ground. I just love how you captured some real smiles and laughter :)

  11. Megan permalink
    October 22, 2014 8:05 pm

    Beautiful photos, beautiful colors and beautiful couple! Congrats!

Leave a Reply

