Skip to content

Katie & Brad! St. Joseph, Michigan Wedding Photography

November 20, 2014

“This is the first day of my life; I think I was blind before I met you.” – Bright Eyes

KB-W-FAV027_fb

Katie & Brad!

I’m not sure I can say enough good things about Katie and Brad [HERE’s their fabulous fall engagement session from last year].

They picked this amazing location [St. Joseph, Michigan], right off Lake Michigan to exchange vows with the beach in the background, and then walk over to the ballroom where they had their reception.  And while the end of October in Indiana and southern Michigan isn’t usually AWESOME weather, it’s not usually snowing.  That’s right.  Snowing.

But they were both so seriously AWESOME with the weather issues, and the challenges it posed [Ashley and I drove by the water, and there were like, 15 foot waves!  And the sand had blown all over the road, to where we saw them shoveling it off with a bobcat!].

In any case, both Katie and Brad and their awesome wedding party, and family were great.  From hanging out with them getting ready, to their sweet first look before exchanging vows, to the freaking awesome dancing, the ‘wintery mix’ had nothing on dampening  the party.

Thank you two so much for inviting us to be a part of your day!  Ashley and I LOVED hanging out with you!

~Maike

PS: Yes, you read that right, Ashley joined me for two wedding weekends in a row!!!  Want to see more of her work?  Check it out HERE.

KB-W-FAV003_fbKB-W-FAV006_fbKB-W-FAV007_fbKB-W-FAV008_fbKB-W-FAV010_fbKB-W-FAV012_fbKB-W-FAV002_fbKB-W-FAV017_fbKB-W-FAV014_fbKB-W-FAV018_fbKB-W-FAV019_fbKB-W-FAV025_fbKB-W-FAV029_fbKB-W-FAV021_fbKB-W-FAV030_fbKB-W-FAV032_fbKB-W-FAV031_fbKB-W-FAV034_fbKB-W-FAV039_fbKB-W-FAV038_fbKB-W-FAV040_fbKB-W-FAV043_fbKB-W-FAV044_fbKB-W-FAV050_fbKB-W-FAV046_fbKB-W-FAV048_fbKB-W-FAV047_fbKB-W-FAV051_fbKB-W-FAV053_fbKB-W-FAV057_fbKB-W-FAV054_fbKB-W-FAV058_fbKB-W-FAV060_fbKB-W-FAV063_fb KB-W-FAV001_fb

Hair : Our family friend, Amber, who always does our hair :)

Make Up : Affinity Salon & Spa

Florist : Crystal Springs Florist

Ceremony : Shadowland Ballroom 

Reception Venue : Shadowland Ballroom 

Sound/Lights : Kaleidoscope Events

Cake/Cookies : Dee’s Specialty Cakes

Catering : Shadowland Ballroom

Dress : Here Comes The Dress

Shoes : Converse Chuck Taylors ;)

Bridesmaid Dresses : David’s Bridal

MUSIC:
bride & groom first dance : First Day of My Life, Bright Eyes
father/daughter : Wildflowers, Tom Petty
mother/son : Landslide, Smashing Pumpkins

BRIDE & GROOM Q&A:

Most memorable moment?

K: Our first look, because I loved just having a special moment alone. After the first look I wasn’t nearly as nervous for the rest of the day. I’ll always be able to look back and remember the look on my husband’s face when he first saw me in my dress, and the love in his eyes :)

B:  Ceremony, because that was when I finally got to marry my best friend.

Advice for future brides?

K: Don’t let the wedding preparation stress rule your actual wedding day. Chances are, things won’t go totally as planned…in my case the weather was basically three of the four seasons all in one day (with a major focus on a random, and legit period of heavy snow…on Halloween).

Funniest memory?

K:  There were a lot of them. The first things that come to my mind are my bridesmaid, Liz, putting my shoes on for me (because that was just incredibly weird for some reason *see above photo*), watching my husband, brother in law, and groomsmen’s liquid courage dance moves, and my nephew just running around being adorable.

B:  The dancing.

If you could do it all over would you change anything?

K: I’m actually not sure. Things didn’t go according to plan that day so I may change a few things. The major thing being the weather…not that I actually have any control over that.

B:  The weather…if that counts.  

Honeymoon?

We were planning on going on one to Alaska right after the wedding, but ran out of money in our budget for it. We’re planning on going on one in the spring now instead. But we did take off a whole week after the wedding anyway (even though we didn’t go anywhere too far) and just relaxed and spent time together…and had a Harry Potter movie marathon. Even if you can’t go on a honeymoon right away, take time after the wedding to chill out because that week of nothing was much needed.

Lastly, are there any other vendors that you LOVED and want to give a shout out to?

Kaleidoscope Events! John and Danika did an awesome job (we used them for our DJ service, day of coordinator – definitely worth it, and officiant). They went above and beyond our expectations, played music that we loved, and we got lots of compliments about them throughout the night and afterwards. They were great to work with through the whole process.

All the people at the Shadowland Ballroom. I feel like they also went above and beyond our expectations and really made our wedding great. We got lots of compliments on the food, signature cocktails, and the ballroom itself. Cheyenne was wonderful to work with, and she helped pull together our ceremony in the ballroom (instead of outside) just the morning before the wedding without any problems. Loved working with her.

Crystal Springs Florist – I LOVED all of our flowers and centerpieces, and when I had my consultation all I really knew was a general idea of how I wanted my flowers to look and the ‘feel’ I was going for, and beyond that Shaya worked through each detail with me and delivered awesome flowers that were exactly what I wanted. Really fresh, beautiful flowers, and a very organized and friendly staff at Crystal Springs.

12 Comments leave one →
  1. November 20, 2014 7:19 pm

    Oh I love this wedding SO much!!! And this bride totally nailed it, that things may not go as planned but it is you and your husband’s special day and nothing can spoil that. I can’t even imagine the stress having vendors canceling at the last minute. I’m glad they didn’t let those things and the weather spoil their day. What a beautiful bride and beautiful images!

  2. November 21, 2014 1:51 am

    Such a fun and original wedding. Love the custom Converse! Gotta love a bride and groom who go with the flow, good weather is boring. ;-)

  3. November 21, 2014 8:18 am

    Those converse w the date on them! That first look! Those window light portraits!! Love love love!! You did a fab job w this super pretty wedding! What a great one to end your season on!!

  4. November 21, 2014 8:22 pm

    This is such a beautiful wedding! This bride and groom are so sweet. I love all the portraits by the beautiful window. Gorgeous light and love how you processed those.

  5. November 22, 2014 12:52 pm

    Wow!! What a gorgeous wedding day and you captured it perfectly!!! I LOVE their first look images! Their details are fab! Super duper job!

  6. Natalie permalink
    November 22, 2014 3:57 pm

    So so cute! I especially adore the shot of them outside with her dress blowing!

  7. jessica permalink
    November 22, 2014 5:03 pm

    Love the converse! You captured their day beautifully.

  8. November 24, 2014 10:59 am

    So beautiful! Your colors look amazing! (well, so do your b&w!) Great job capturing this day so beautifully!

  9. Laura permalink
    November 24, 2014 11:08 am

    Awesome photos – I love all their details, plus their portraits with that giant window are stunning!!

  10. Megan permalink
    November 24, 2014 9:05 pm

    Love these photos and love the shoes! So fun.

  11. Caitlynn permalink
    November 24, 2014 9:53 pm

    Cool shoes. Pretty, pretty bride! Love the one of her by the windows. Sweet first look. Beautiful first kiss! Looks like a perfect day captured beautifully.

  12. November 25, 2014 1:34 am

    Awesome customized Converse! I’ve never seen that before. :D I love all of the side-lit portraits by the windows, but my favorite is an unusual one: the shot of their hands as Brad is about to put on Katie’s ring. I just love the obvious emotion in it—even with no faces! Great job, Maike. These are all beautiful! :D

Leave a Reply

