Skip to content

Rika, Rusty & Joshua! Rio Rancho, New Mexico Family Session

April 12, 2016

“Cherish your human connections – your relationships with friends and family.” -Barbara Bush

RRJ-2015-FAV005_WEB

Apparently last Sunday was Sibling Day! [according to facebook, anyway].  So It’s appropriate that my oldest sister is gracing the blog this week!

Meet Rika, Rusty and Joshua!

They live in New Mexico, and I was able to photograph them while visiting my parents and celebrating the life of my crazy, awesome, creative aunt Jane who passed away suddenly about a month ago.

I’m actually the only one of our immediate family who doesn’t live in New Mexico these days.  Which, since acquiring nephews who can actually say my name, has made me a bit sad [I told Ronald, if we were to move again, I’d want to look somewhere within 10 hours driving distance to my parents place, which sounds like a lot, but is SOOO much shorter than the 20 hours driving distance now].

BUT, that does mean when we’re there, we try to hang out a lot, and just BE together.  And I like that. 

I also like that my sister is a massage therapist, and we were able to swap my first ever facial, and an awesome massage.

And I really like this session ;).

If you haven’t been to New Mexico, you should totally GO!  It can seem a bit drab [there’s a lot of brown’s], but they have the coolest art, and jewelry and sunsets…. and New Mexican food ;).

So… without further ado… here they are!  Rika, Rusty and 3 year old Joshua, who loves his police car toy [see below], making dust storms with his feet and the dry sand, and throwing rocks into the water from a safe distance away form the mud ;).

Loved being able to take your photos you guys!  Can’t wait to see you all again!

Cheers!
~Maike

RRJ-2015-FAV017_WEBRRJ-2015-FAV003_WEB RRJ-2015-FAV006_WEBRRJ-2015-FAV007_WEB RRJ-2015-FAV020_WEBRRJ-2015-FAV016_WEBRRJ-2015-FAV002_WEBRRJ-2015-FAV001_WEBRRJ-2015-FAV008_WEBRRJ-2015-FAV013_WEBRRJ-2015-FAV014_WEBRRJ-2015-FAV009_WEB RRJ-2015-FAV018_WEBRRJ-2015-FAV010_WEBRRJ-2015-FAV011_WEB RRJ-2015-FAV015_WEB

9 Comments leave one →
  1. April 12, 2016 2:44 pm

    Oh, I love the wide angle shots and your perspective! Beautiful images!

  2. Anonymous permalink
    April 12, 2016 5:08 pm

    Love those overalls – so stinkin’ cute!

  3. April 12, 2016 6:08 pm

    That little sweet Joshua looks like so much fun! Your sis is gorgeous! loved this session!

  4. April 12, 2016 11:54 pm

    these are so wonderful!! agree with jennifer, love those wide shots!

  5. lauren permalink
    April 14, 2016 2:08 pm

    These are so perfect! I love this family (your family!) so much! So much beautiful interaction and Joshua is so adorable

  6. April 14, 2016 2:43 pm

    Oh this session is so fun! I’m sure your sister loves these! I love the black and white of just Joshua!

  7. April 15, 2016 2:57 pm

    These are so much and natural! I love the pops of color and the real emotions :) Fab job!

  8. Natalie permalink
    April 16, 2016 12:07 pm

    These are so great! I love that little man in his overalls. The second to last shot is just plain adorable, I can almost hear his sweet giggle!

  9. Caitlynn permalink
    April 17, 2016 3:46 pm

    What a cute little guy! Looks like he has plenty of energy. How sweet that you were able to spend time with your sister. Love those shots with the three of them walking together (and the one of Joshua with his police car).

Leave a Reply

