Skip to content

Hawaii! Maui, Hawaii Sabbatical Images Part 1

July 12, 2016

“Hawaii is not a state of mind, but a state of grace.” Paul Theroux

HI-2016-FAVs020_WEB

Some of you diligent followers on instagram [oh, you do the instagram too, but haven’t followed me yet?  You can do that HERE and HERE] figured out I spent some time on the beautiful island of Maui, in Hawaii back in February.

Three cheers for traveling and hooray for amazing friends to adventure with!

You see, I have this amazingly generous wonderful friend Jill who loves people SOOO well.  After years and years being on the receiving end of her generosity a few of us got together and schemed up a plan. Then, for her birthday in January, we surprised her with a free trip to Hawaii!!!  It was one of the best surprises ever.  I loved every minute of planning it!  There was confusion when she was given a bunch of Hawaii themed gifts before the reveal [coconut water, bathing suit, sun glasses, sun screen, etc], excitement as she realized what had just happened, and then tears and ‘oh my gosh’-es as it sunk in and she hugged and then re-hugged all the people who were a part of this awesome surprise.  It was magnificent.

Our other friend from Drury University, Bonni and her husband and little girl were living in Hawaii for a year long work contract, so we got to bunk at their place, got the DL from people who live there, rent a sweet convertible [thanks credit card points! Huzzah!], and wander around the island taking in beaches, sunsets, snorkeling, whale watching, hiking, zip-lining… it was magnificent.  And for the midwestern girls who barely made it out of Chicago before a blizzard hit, it was a welcome reprieve from winter.

We LOVED our week there, and as you can imagine, even though I wasn’t officially ‘working’, I did come home with a slew of images: a breeching whale, beautiful flowers, amazing blue of the breath taking beaches, and many many more.

I didn’t have anything up on the line up for this weeks blog entry, so I thought I’d share some favorite images from our trip.  I know Hawaii is known for it’s beautiful beaches, but part one features the non-water images [part two will all feature the H2O, stay tuned for that].

If you haven’t been to Hawaii and it isn’t on your bucket list, I HIGHLY recommend adding it.

Aloha!
~Maike

HI-2016-FAVs042_WEB HI-2016-FAVs043_WEB HI-2016-FAVs044_WEBHI-2016-FAVs022_WEB HI-2016-FAVs053_WEB *above are our beautiful hosts!  Jake, Bonni and sweet little Alayna in the middle!HI-2016-FAVs054_WEB*hiking in the bamboo forest = LOVEHI-2016-FAVs029_WEB HI-2016-FAVs030_WEBHI-2016-FAVs096_WEBHI-2016-FAVs033_WEB HI-2016-FAVs070_WEB*can you believe the above photo is the SAME place as the previous ones?  I can’t get over how many different looks Hawaii has.HI-2016-FAVs023-2_WEB

*my lovely travel companion Jill!HI-2016-FAVs027_WEB HI-2016-FAVs040_WEBHI-2016-FAVs041_WEB*Aunt Maike, doing some yoga together with the little one!  She’s the cutest copy cat ever.HI-2016-FAVs036_WEB

20 Comments leave one →
  1. July 12, 2016 10:10 am

    Wow, those are some amazing pictures!

  2. Kristine B permalink
    July 12, 2016 4:10 pm

    Such fun and beautiful travel images! Love it!

  3. Abbey permalink
    July 12, 2016 4:29 pm

    Ahhhhh you’ve got me green with envy! As if I don’t want to go to Hawaii bad enough – these photos make it that much more tempting! Gorgeous!

  4. lauren permalink
    July 12, 2016 4:39 pm

    Beautiful Maike! Hawaii is one of my favorite places ever and you captured it so well!

  5. July 12, 2016 4:57 pm

    ohhhhh so jealous!! so beautiful!! love that your making sure to capture it all. beautiful photos!!

  6. Anonymous permalink
    July 12, 2016 7:54 pm

    What a wonderful, beautiful gift, to give, … and receive

  7. Kerri permalink
    July 13, 2016 12:16 am

    LOVE these!!! Makes me want to get out there and travel somewhere!! I love vacation pictures and I love looking back at them for years after :) Amazing work here!

  8. July 13, 2016 8:09 am

    OMG. I’ve never been to Hawaii and now I’m dyingggg to go! Gorgeous images Maike!! Thanks for sharing!

  9. July 13, 2016 9:43 am

    AHHHH I miss Hawaii soooooo much!!!! These images are great, and you’re making me want to go on a sabbatical! :) XOXO

  10. July 13, 2016 2:39 pm

    Can I come with you on your next trip? I want to live inside that bamboo forest <3<3

  11. July 13, 2016 5:29 pm

    OHHHH my gosh these are beyond perfect! I’ve never been to Hawaii and you make me want to go!

  12. July 13, 2016 10:00 pm

    How beautiful! I went to Maui about 10 years ago, and you brought back all of the gorgeous memories! beautiful work!

  13. Natalie permalink
    July 13, 2016 10:36 pm

    Beautiful!!! I NEEEEEED to go now!

  14. July 13, 2016 11:03 pm

    Wowzers these are so pretty! And hello…..or aloha I should say….I’ve always wanted to go to Hawaii and now I freaking want to go! Yay for you and your friends. And these photos to treasure the memories.

  15. Caitlynn permalink
    July 14, 2016 2:18 pm

    Wow! What a surprise! Beautiful images and story.

  16. July 15, 2016 5:34 pm

    Wow!! These are great!! Serious travel envy over here!

  17. July 15, 2016 5:57 pm

    These are gorgeous!!

  18. July 15, 2016 9:50 pm

    Ok, I need to book a trip to Hawaii now!! These are beautiful Maike!

  19. July 24, 2016 7:23 pm

    Would love to go to Hawaii – hoping to soon and love the surprise trip for your friend!

Trackbacks

  1. Hawaii! Maui, Hawaii Sabbatical Images Part 2 | m.rinaye

Leave a Reply

