Skip to content

Erin & Jake! Janesville, Wisconsin Wedding Photography

July 26, 2016

“I carry your heart with me (I carry it in my heart)I am never without it (anywhere
I go you go,my dear; and whatever is done by only me is your doing,my darling)
I fear no fate (for you are my fate,my sweet)I want no world (for beautiful you are my world,my true)
and it’s you are whatever a moon has always meant and whatever a sun will always sing is you

here is the deepest secret nobody knows
(here is the root of the root and the bud of the bud and the sky of the sky of a tree called life; which grows
higher than the soul can hope or mind can hide)
and this is the wonder that’s keeping the stars apart

I carry your heart (I carry it in my heart)”-E.E. Cummings

DSC_6779_WEB

Back in June, Ronald [the husband], and I traveled up to Wisconsin [Janesville, to be exact], where we were able to hang out with a bunch of awesome family and celebrate my cousin Erin, and her guy Jake exchanging vows and become husband and wife!

And after the year we’ve had [my Tillen family], it was SO GOOD to be celebrating their marriage.  See, in the 12 months prior to their wedding, we have had three of the matriarchs of our family pass away.  And the first one was enough [it was my grandmother, and that was SUPER hard], but then to have two more beloved wonderful women die this past year.  Sheesh.  It was almost too much for my soul to take.

So being able to come together and dance, and drink, and eat pie, and just ENJOY being around each other for a happy event was wonderful.  Oh so very wonderful.

My family is pretty big [my grandmother had 15 grandkids], and we all hail initially from New Mexico, so while there were some folks missing, we ended up with a pretty big pack of family around for Jake and Erin’s wedding.  The cousins all danced through the night, and it made me wonder why we hadn’t all gone out dancing together before [it’s now officially on the to-do list; which is tricky because we now cover 5 states and are spread miles and miles apart, but IT’S ON THE LIST!]

Their wedding was in Janesville at this camp Jake grew up wandering around, right off the water.  And while it was hot, and we all sweat buckets, it was SO dreamy!  Their ceremony was held looking out on the water, and then the reception was in a tent just a short walk away from the lake.

So, it doesn’t happen often, BUT, this wedding I was actually invited to as a guest!  As any good photographer knows though, I just couldn’t NOT bring my camera with me.  Plus, I just bought a new Sigma lens, so it was the perfect opportunity to wander around with it, and test it out, without the stress and go-go-go-ness of a wedding I was hired to shoot.

So here are some images of my cousin and her love…. and Wisconsin… and the beautiful lake…. and my family.

I’m really grateful for the family I grew up in.  It could not have been more perfect for me.

I hope you guys also have had great celebrations this summer, and that you love your family well because they wont always be around.

Cheers!
~Maike

ps: Best parts of this wedding: dancing [duh], my family [obvi], the flower girls literally scooping out big huge handfuls of flowers down the aisle, my cousin Jordan’s awesome band that played for the ceremony and the reception, the incorporation of important people in Erin’s veil [those matriarchs I talked about, ya… I had tears in my eyes when she explained the awesome patches that remembered those three and more], the awesome processional dance down the aisle after they were officially pronounced husband and wife, and the gorgeous sunset and fireworks on the lake.

DSC_6650_WEB DSC_6651_WEB DSC_6636_WEBDSC_6652_WEB DSC_6634_WEB DSC_6656_WEB DSC_6668_WEB DSC_6673_WEB DSC_6684_WEB DSC_6687_WEB DSC_6690_WEB DSC_6693_WEB DSC_6696_WEB DSC_6700_WEB DSC_6705_WEB DSC_6710_WEB DSC_6725_WEB DSC_6743_WEB DSC_6751_WEB DSC_6777-2_WEB DSC_6780_WEB DSC_6813_WEB DSC_6799_WEB DSC_6802_WEB DSC_6814_WEB DSC_6822_WEB DSC_6835_WEB DSC_6838_WEB

10 Comments leave one →
  1. Laura permalink
    July 26, 2016 12:06 pm

    Love it.. I still can’t avoid making crazy faces in our pictures.

    • July 26, 2016 12:40 pm

      It’s sort of like our thing now… we’ll have to start a collection! :)

  2. July 26, 2016 1:03 pm

    What an amazing location and a gorgeous couple!! They’re so lucky to have such a talented photographer in the family! :D

  3. July 26, 2016 2:20 pm

    Oh I love these, your family gatherings look like a ton of fun! So nice to be able to be a guest at a wedding for a change. :) Gorgeous images, and congrats to your cousin!! XOXO

  4. Natalie permalink
    July 26, 2016 10:47 pm

    How adorable are they?! That dress is so beautiful!! Great job.

  5. July 27, 2016 12:57 pm

    I love the lake shot at sunset!

  6. destineeblau permalink
    July 27, 2016 1:18 pm

    Awesome! Those lake shots are amazing. I’m so glad you were able to spend time with family celebrating! So sorry for all your losses this year.

  7. jennyrawson permalink
    July 27, 2016 4:50 pm

    It’s so pretty pretty pretty! Everything! I think you can tell this one is personal to you and I’m loving it.

  8. July 28, 2016 5:24 pm

    gorgeous wedding! LOOOVE her dress!

  9. lauren permalink
    August 18, 2016 5:10 pm

    that dress is everything! love these images soooo much!

Leave a Reply

