Skip to content

Hawaii! Maui, Hawaii Sabbatical Images Part 2

September 20, 2016

“For me, the magic of Hawaii comes from the stillness, the sea, the stars.” -Joanne Harris

HI-2016-FAVs006_WEB

And finally, months later, Hawaii Part 2!!!

When I was a kid, I remember spending hours and hours randomly next to our shelf of photo albums, going through and looking at all the different trips, people, fashions, etc.

I loved it.

I still do.

One of my all time favorite albums is of a trip my mom took with her good friend and a dog, driving from New Mexico to New York City where she picked up her German relatives, and drove them back across the country to New Mexico.  It was in the thick of the bell bottoms, crop tops, and platform shoes era… pre-husbands and pre-babies… I LOVED looking at my young momma adventuring with her friend. So brave, and just so damn cool.

I’ll have to share an image from that album next time I’m in New Mexico visiting my family.

BUT, that short story just to say, I sort of feel like this random adventure with Jill across the ocean to adventure holds the same significance as my mom’s awesome cross country trip.  I’ve been really lucky to have these crazy traveling opportunities, and to have the courage and friendships to jump at the chance to see different cultures and experience life in a different state, country, continent.  I feel like you learn so much when you travel.

What we learned in Hawaii:

-slow down

-always drive with the top of the convertible down [if it’s chilly, turn the heater on]

-sing loud with the radio

-buy/bring a scarf to wrap your hair in so it doesn’t get tangled

-make sure your flippers fit before you go into the ocean [otherwise, you might end up with a swim suit full of sand]

-when in Hawaii eat shave ice [yum]

-best way to apply sunscreen is naked in the bathroom before you even start the day

-if you’re there in the winter, go whale watching at sunrise

-before your trip get some motion sickness ear sticker things for the whale watching

-relax

Hope you all get a chance to travel around and see new towns, cities, states, countries and continents.  Experiencing life through travel is really a gift you can’t always put a price tag on.

Aloha!
~Maike

HI-2016-FAVs008_WEBHI-2016-FAVs046_WEB HI-2016-FAVs015_WEB HI-2016-FAVs017_WEB HI-2016-FAVs012_WEB HI-2016-FAVs021_WEB HI-2016-FAVs060_WEBHI-2016-FAVs056_WEB HI-2016-FAVs069_WEB HI-2016-FAVs079_WEB HI-2016-FAVs080_WEB HI-2016-FAVs082_WEB HI-2016-FAVs088_WEB HI-2016-FAVs093_WEBHI-2016-FAVs064_WEB

14 Comments leave one →
  1. September 20, 2016 1:36 pm

    Mind if I use your pic of the surf boards as a banner pic for YouTube?
    Great stuff!

  2. Laurie permalink
    September 20, 2016 2:40 pm

    Isn’t it just the best place ever?! Love how you captured these memories, they are truly beautiful!!! Awesome images!

  3. Jen Crowe permalink
    September 20, 2016 4:40 pm

    Love these!

  4. Faye permalink
    September 20, 2016 6:07 pm

    Ahh. Those sea turtles and the surf boards! Love love love. I hope to make it to that beautiful state someday!!!

  5. Kristine B permalink
    September 20, 2016 10:01 pm

    Awesome travel photos!! Making me want a vaca so bad!

  6. jennyrawson permalink
    September 20, 2016 10:12 pm

    Well now I’m longing for Hawaii. Beautiful! So glad you documented your time and in such a beautiful way.

  7. September 21, 2016 1:52 pm

    You’re making me miss Hawaii again!! Love all of these, Maike! :)

  8. September 21, 2016 5:15 pm

    GAH!! This is amazing!!! What a gorgeous trip! Print all of them!

  9. September 22, 2016 12:25 pm

    I AM SO JEALOUS THAT YOU GOT TO SWIM WITH A SEA TURTLE!!!!!! They are my favorite!!!! Looks like such a great time!!

  10. September 23, 2016 1:22 pm

    gosh these are amazing!!! and SOOO jealous as i sit here in montana with my heat on!!

  11. lauren permalink
    September 23, 2016 8:19 pm

    these are fantastic friend! i can’t describe how much i love hawaii and looking through your images has reminded me of this! i need to plan my next adventure out there :)

  12. Natalie permalink
    September 24, 2016 4:45 pm

    Soooo beautiful!! That surf board images!!

  13. Kerri permalink
    September 26, 2016 6:47 pm

    Amazing! What an awesome trip! So glad you got to go and experience that with your friend :)

  14. Bobbi permalink
    September 29, 2016 1:23 pm

    This looks like so much fun and the images are beautiful!! Glad you had an awesome trip. :D

Leave a Reply

