Skip to content

Joan, Dill, and Evelyn! Family Photography Session, Indianapolis Indiana

October 2, 2018

“Let her tell stories and dance in the rain, somersault, tumble and run, her joys must be high as her sorrows are deep, let her grow like a weed in the sun.” – Neil Gaiman, Blueberry Girl

Hey friends!

Fall is here [ish]…. [hopefully]… [but you never know].  Luckily, Joan, Dill, Evelyn and I were able to grab a piece of that sweet cool weather and the warm fall colors for their Fountain Square Family Photo Shoot.  And guys, let me tell you how much I LOVE LOVE LOVE how they all turned out.  There’s like 800 amazing ones from hanging out for less than two hours.  Picking which ones go on the wall is going to be terribly difficult [ha!]

We know each other because of mutual friends, and really just on facebook, so our first interaction when we met up went like this:

Me: Hi!  Yay, you’re here!
Joan: Hey!
….
Joan: So, how do you say your name?
Me: Ha!  It’s Mike-uh, it’s German.  Also, what name should I call you?
Joan: Our derby names are fine, Joan and Dill.

Joan and Dill are one of those people that I’m pretty sure are more well known for their derby names than their given names.  I think that might be a small indication of their awesomeness.

They own Strange Brew down on the south side of Indy, and have a collection of really awesome talents and things they’re involved in [Derby, knitting, bands, books, etc].  Joan is an author of some sweet geek knitting books [if you knit/want to knit, you should probably put them on your Christmas list ;)]. Dill is an international announcer for derby, so if you’re into the derby scene, you might have heard him announcing [ooh, which reminds me of when we went back in 2008, Valentines day, at the State Fair, and they auctioned off derby girl busts, created by artists, in order to raise money for breast cancer (I think), I wonder if he announced that derby event!  Ooh, I wonder if Joan was skating then!]

Joan and Dill are awesome humans, no doubt about it, but then there’s Evelyn Winter!  And she is SOOOO cool.  And sweet.  And squishy.  And full of happiness.  She was a rockstar at this photoshoot, and is so wonderfully loved by her momma and daddy.  Since Joan and I are Facebook friends, I’ve been following along with their Evelyn story [Evelyn is only 6 months younger than Z].  Their story is awesome, and science is so cool, and generous friends are amazing. All I’m saying is you should check out Joan’s blog.  I love reading it, you too should read it.

So yes, welcome to the blog Joan, Dill and Evelyn!

Cheers!
~Maike

ps: In finding all the links for this blog, I once again came across this video of their gender reveal… so cool.

No comments yet

Leave a comment